Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Fake DMCA works on WHB? Are you kidding me?

  1. #1
    w13zybez's Avatar
    w13zybez is offline New Bee
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    WHB Points this Month
    0.00
    WHB Points
    0.00
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Fake DMCA works on WHB? Are you kidding me?

    My account got suspended ( my account: harrypottermovie7.com ) because somebody sent a fake DMCA notice! Wow!

    And the email came from a domain registered 3 days ago:

    Whois:
    Registered Through
    GoDaddy.com, Inc.
    Domain Name: krongold-law.com
    Created on: 2008-12-15 07:10:50

    This is a fake. The real domain is http://www.krongoldlaw.com/. (notice the missing hyphen?)


    Edit:

    Here's another one. Notice the same thing: the added hyphen to fool people into thinking it is a real law agency:



    Domain Name.......... mandour-law.com
    Creation Date........ 2008-12-16
    Registration Date.... 2008-12-16
    Expiry Date.......... 2009-12-16
    Organisation Name.... Ashlee Lowther
    Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
    Organisation Address.
    Organisation Address. EmeryVille
    Organisation Address. 94662
    Organisation Address. CA
    Organisation Address. US

    Admin Name........... PrivateRegContact Admin
    Admin Address........ P O Box 99800
    Admin Address........
    Admin Address........ EmeryVille
    Admin Address........ 94662
    Admin Address........ CA
    Admin Address........ US
    Admin Email.......... contact@myprivateregistration.com
    Admin Phone.......... +1.5105952002
    Admin Fax............
    Last edited by w13zybez; 12-19-2008 at 06:42 PM.
    WHB Customer

  2. #2
    Wayne R.'s Avatar
    Wayne R. is offline WeeHBie
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    145
    WHB Points this Month
    0.00
    WHB Points
    0.00
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Well, the hyphenated domain seems to forward to the non-hyphenated domain currently, but I'll do some searching for your ticket/information and see what the deal is.
    Wayne Reavill
    WebHostingBuzz CIO

  3. #3
    w13zybez's Avatar
    w13zybez is offline New Bee
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    WHB Points this Month
    0.00
    WHB Points
    0.00
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne R View Post
    Well, the hyphenated domain seems to forward to the non-hyphenated domain currently, but I'll do some searching for your ticket/information and see what the deal is.
    Well of course it's forwarded. The guy doesn't want to create a legitimate looking website, he just wants to send emails pretending to be a lawyer.

    Thanks.
    WHB Customer

  4. #4
    w13zybez's Avatar
    w13zybez is offline New Bee
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    WHB Points this Month
    0.00
    WHB Points
    0.00
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Also please unsuspend my account, there are some scripts that need to be online and them being offline is causing me pain.

    Account: harrypot
    harrypottermovie7.com

    Thanks.
    WHB Customer

  5. #5
    Tony's Avatar
    Tony is offline Bad Influence
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    West Virginia Blue Ridge
    Posts
    604
    Servers
    SS3
    WHB Points this Month
    15.00
    WHB Points
    175.00
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    Default

    I would like to think WHB investigates such claims before suspending a client, not afterwards. That could lead to chaos. Guilty unless you can prove yourself innocent? But you can't access your account, so you can't.

    Can we get some official word?

  6. #6
    Matt R.'s Avatar
    Matt R. is offline WeeHBie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,394
    WHB Points this Month
    0.00
    WHB Points
    60.00
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    We do our level best to investigate. Do you have the ticket ID so I can check it out?
    Matt Russell
    WebHostingBuzz CEO

    Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattdrussell

  7. #7
    Matt R.'s Avatar
    Matt R. is offline WeeHBie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,394
    WHB Points this Month
    0.00
    WHB Points
    60.00
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Ok, I found it. We cannot discuss legal issues in public but I responded to your ticket, so please respond there. My email is matt (at) webhostingbuzz.com if you need to contact me privately.
    Matt Russell
    WebHostingBuzz CEO

    Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattdrussell

Closed Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts