Has anyone else discovered that their phpBB v3.0.8 is being used to send out spam emails? I did not notice until I recently checked my Webmail and discovered that this was going on with my forums. I discovered it only because I was receiving "failed to deliver" notices to an email address I don't normally forward (account@whbuzz.com, or something like that). I regret I seem to have irretrievably deleted all of those emails.
I know they were sent using phpBB because they were using my (unique) phpBB Admin signature. I know I did not send them because the vast majority of them were in Cyrillic.
I have had an ongoing battle with spammers joining my phpBB forums, which I can handle, but I have had to shut down new user registrations in order to prevent further spamming from my account. Does anyone have a better solution to this problem that will allow legitimate new users to register and use my phpBB forums?
Lastly, if you have a phpBB forum, you had better log into your Webmail and check to see if you are getting bounces for emails you have not been intentionally sending.


LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks



Reply With Quote



